Musing: When Authors Like Our Book Reviews

20140506-222800.jpg
I’m going to speak for all of us when I say that we don’t write book reviews for fame or fortune. Nor recognition or accolades. We write reviews because we love to read, and we want to share our love of books with other people. You.

But you know what happened? We’ve found some excellent byproducts of the reading, reviewing, and blogging process!

Naturally, we get to interact with other people who like to read what we read: other bloggers and our blog followers. Book conversations? Ummm yes, please. Definitely.

Sometimes authors interact with us, too, which is pretty cool. Even a simple retweet makes me feel like my efforts made a difference to someone. Some muses have entire conversations (twitter, Facebook) with authors.

Today I found something that just took the cake. I was googling a book I’ve read in the past, and to what did my wondering eyes did appear? An excerpt of a Random Book Muses book review… ON AN AUTHOR’S WEB SITE! Yes, you heard me right: authors are using excerpts of our reviews on their web sites. How cool is that?!

So I googled some more.

Hello! More excerpts on more author web sites! I even found one of Pegasus’ reviews in its entirety.

Here are some of the links, so you can check out these wonderful, friendly authors yourself:

Megan Mulry

Jennie Jones

Vincent Lam

Laura Florand

…and the one that started it all…
Susan Mallery

It all makes me giddy, really.

So thank you, authors. Thank you for the love. We appreciate you noticing our words about your words. ❤️

-Calliope

Advertisements

2 thoughts on “Musing: When Authors Like Our Book Reviews

  1. That’s really cool, I’ve had thank yous and them follow my blog, even a few posts on their facebook page saying about a nice review, but that’s brilliant. it’s nice to know reviews are really appreciated. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s