Review – The Accident, by Chris Pavone

18050094A couple of weeks ago, I reviewed The Expats by Chris Pavone, and this week, I have for you a review of Pavone’s follow-up book, The Accident. Now, it’s not strictly a sequel per se, but some of the same characters do appear, and you learn a lot more about them, and I would definitely recommend reading The Expats before you read this one.
Pavone’s The Accident, is set in the cut-throat and sinking world of publishing. We are sucked into the intricacies and complexities that the publishing business faces on a daily basis, all whilst giving us a meaty thriller. Set over the course of a day (except for flashback scenes), Literary agent Isabelle Reed, is anonymously sent a manuscript and even though it is one of many hundreds she will receive in the week, she makes a copy and passes it along to her assistant, and to an editor to read. The manuscript is an explosive expose on the CEO of a multi media empire. It reveals secrets that are damaging to both the CEO and indeed the CIA. It soon becomes clear that anyone who reads the manuscript is soon in grave danger.
As I mentioned in my previous review, Pavone himself is a former editor who has lived in various places throughout Europe. The Accident takes places in Europe and NYC, and because of the author’s previous profession and his expat experience, the story really builds its layers in a successful manner. The pace is taut, the plot exciting – not too far from the realm of believability, and the dialogue is genuine. Pavone has created characters that you really want to either succeed or fail. This is another successful thriller from an author that will soon become as well know and successful as other thriller bigwigs such as David Baldacci. What gives Pavone the edge is his actual experience that he puts in his writing.
This book is definitely worth your time and money if you are a fan of the thriller genre.
~ Pegasus.

ARC provided by Blogging For Books, in exchange for an honest review.

You can read an interview/conversation with Chris Pavone regarding The Accident, here: http://crownpublishing.com/wp-content/uploads/2014/05/A-Conversation-with-Chris-PavoneThe-Accident.pdf

The Accident

Review – The Expats by Chris Pavone.

12617758Can you hear that? Well, that’s a sigh of relief that I am able to write a positive review this week, considering that last week’s book left a lot be desired!
This week we have a book called The Expats by Chris Pavone. Set predominantly in Luxembourg and Paris, The Expats follows a family that move to Luxembourg for a career opportunity, and the trouble that soon begins. Kate and Dexter Moore seem to be your average couple caught up in DC’s rat-race, however, Kate is ex CIA with a lot of history. When they get to Luxembourg and begin to mingle with the expat community, Kate soon becomes suspicious of another American couple, and begins to investigate. What follows, will take Kate and Dexter on an exciting, and at times perilous, journey throughout Europe. Is this new couple dangerous? Are things all that they seem?
Ok, granted, the premise may sound a little familiar within the countless other novels in the espionage thriller genre, but what gives this the edge is the real experience behind the writing. Chris Pavone has himself been an expat in Europe, and this really shows in the writing. Being an expat myself, I could definitely relate to these characters, their sense of apprehension and that feeling of not being grounded.
The pace and tone of this novel was perfect for the genre – not too slow, and not too fast – an intelligent thriller. Thrillers are my go-to for an easy fluff read and this hit the mark. Saying that however, this novel also crossed genre boundaries by examining how people cope in a relationship where secrets rife. In an unknown country, with friends who you can’t necessarily trust, or even a spouse, how do you cope? What runs through your mind? What influences your actions? Well, Pavone attempts to give these questions some answers in the midst of creating an exciting espionage thriller.
If you are looking for a fairly quick, but thrill seeking read, then definitely give this one a go, especially with it being only $1.99 at the moment!

‘Till next time my lovely readers,

Pegasus

The Expats: A Novel

Review – Waiting For Wednesday, by Nicci French

17987216Up until a few years ago, Nicci French was one of my go-to authors when I want something relaxing and fun to read. Recently, I decided to try one of their (Nicci French is actually a husband and wife team that writes the books together) newer books, Waiting for Wednesday. This is the third book in a new sub series that they have created, however, it can also be read as a standalone.

Like I said above, the stories written by Nicci French aren’t necessarily hard to follow, and they keep you moving along at a decent pace. The character development is quite good for a book in the thriller genre, with a good ratio of time spent on plot and character interaction.

The premise follows Frieda Kleine, a psychologist that works with the police on particularly hard crimes. A seemingly innocent woman is murdered, in what appears to be a random attack. Frieda is once again called into help, and whilst battling her own demons from past events, she helps to investigate the grisly murder.
This book is definitely a good choice for a casual read, or when you are in a book hangover. If however, you don’t want to start on the 3rd book in a series, I can personally recommend any of French’s previous novels, particularly, Secret Smile. Well worth the read.

~ Pegasus
Waiting for Wednesday: Waiting for Wednesday: A Frieda Klein Mystery (Freida Klein)

Secret Smile: Secret Smile (French, Nicci)

Review: Mud Vein, by Tarryn Fisher

01

“It’s your darkness that pulls me in. Your mud vein. But sometimes having a mud vein will kill you.”

This is not a book I can put in just one category. It’s not a mere thriller, mystery or suspense, or even a romance. This story can’t be simplified into any of those. It is an experience that will leave you speechless.

I am having a hard time putting into words all these crazy feelings that are running through me. Very few books have left me with this feeling of sadness, over the ending. But sadness isn’t the correct word. I’m not sad. I may be crying, but I’m not really sad. I’m more numb, than anything. See?? I need someone to reach down and pull the correct words out of my head and through them down here. I’m all a wreck.

If I could just write a review saying “Go and read it.” I totally would. Tarryn Fisher has a very unique writing style and it sucks you right in. This review will NOT do it justice. I’ll tell you that right now. You might as well just click on the buy link, at the bottom, and get started on reading it.

Senna wakes up in a cabin, in the middle of nowhere, and the only way out is to take good hard look at her past. But looking at her past may very well destroy her future. She must try and put the pieces together, or her life might not be the only one in danger.

Her past has completely shaped her. She is a broken soul with no way to be fixed. Or maybe, she doesn’t have the will to be fixed. She broke my heart. I was drawn into her and could totally feel everything she felt. I was breathless at a few parts. How one person could experience so much, was beyond me. I could feel her brokenness through these pages.

Isaac, was her savior, but she never really noticed that. He was there when she was at her worst, and he helped her when no one else did. He saved her from herself. He kept her alive. He was also with her in the cabin.

“Maybe lifting someone else’s weight makes yours a little more bearable.”

Every time I saw a glimpse of Isaac, from her past, I fell more in love with him. He never left her, when he thought she needed him. And she most definitely needed him, way more than she thought. He cared for her and never backed down no matter how hard she pushed. And boy did she push.

“Why are you here?”
“Because you are.”

But this wasn’t a love story really. It was a story about people and their darkness, and how even those with darkness in them they can still be loved. But it really wasn’t about love!! I still can’t put my finger on it.

My heart was racing almost this entire book. Watching Isaac and Senna try and put the pieces together, had my heart racing. It was a matter of their life or death. This is definitely not my usual type of story. I’m a fluff reader. Happy happy joy joy, with occasional heartbreak mixed in. This book terrified me, made me nervous, and of course, still broke my heart. The love shone, throughout this story, was beautiful, if not devastating. To have love like that would make anyone deliriously happy, but to Senna, it was unfathomable, until the very end.

“What you wrap around your soul determines your outcome.”

Tie yourself to those you truly love you.

~Melpomene

Buy Mud Vein

Sneak Peak: Forty Acres by Dwayne Alexander Smith

20140317-222031.jpgClear your calendars for this one, friends! An edge-of-your seat thriller that’s guaranteed to cause controversy. Perfect for book clubs and sure to invite deep discussion. This one put me through the wringer! Hits the shelves on July 1, just in time to make your summer reading list. Look for my full review on June 30!

~Thalia

Preorder it Now: Forty Acres: A Thriller

Review – King and Maxwell, by David Baldacci.

17333431I’ve been a fan of David Baldacci for about the last 10 years or so, so when I received this ARC to review, I jumped in reading straight away. As you can probably start to tell by now, my taste in genres is pretty varied. Baldacci is my go-to author for my ‘fluff’ reading; he is like James Patterson, only twice as good and actually writes his own books (allegedly!).

This book is the latest in the Sean King and Michelle Maxwell series – a buddy cop type series, but with two former Secret Service agents. I really like this series because these two characters have some genuine chemistry and seem half believable. It’s not too late to start this series as there are only 5 other books before this one.

The plot is your standard ‘two agents must save the day against juggernaut government factions that kill at will’ etc, etc… However, this plot has a contemporary edge to it, which makes it seem like it could potentially happen in today’s age. The pace of the writing is fast and exciting – before you know it, you’ve read ¾ of the book!

I won’t for one second say that this book will invoke any kind of emotional tidal wave, make you ponder the meaning of life and being, challenge your inner self, or anything like that. It will however, serve as an entertaining and quick read, one that doesn’t disappoint because you know what you are getting, and it doesn’t fail to deliver. I highly recommended this for fans of Baldacci’s King and Maxwell series.

Book provided by NetGalley for an honest review.

~ Pegasus.

Buy It Here: King and Maxwell (King & Maxwell)<